listen live
West Liberty, OH

Indian Lake hosts annual scholarship night

The Indian Lake High School Scholarship night was a tribute to student accomplishments and the memory of several students, staff, and community members.

More than 50 area organizations, school groups, and individuals handed out 185 scholarships worth over $130,000.

2014 Indian Lake alum Jacob Shoe presented the first Nikki Lynn Shoe Memorial Scholarship since his graduation. His sister passed away in an auto accident in 1994 and her scholarship fund ended with Jacob. However, as a gift to his parents, he and his brother, Randy, reinstated the fund this year to give to a student who demonstrates kindness and leadership. The winner was Cole Mefford. Jacob asked the audience members to each perform a random act of kindness in honor of his sister on May 31st, Nikki’s birthday.

In addition, the Russ Hogue Memorial Scholarship was presented to his daughter, Hanna Hogue. The scholarship, in honor of the long-time Indian Lake educator and coach, goes to someone who demonstrates toughness. Russ Hogue, Jr. explained, “My sister has shown toughness beyond anything I could ever do. She watched her father die at age five. She was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at age twelve and she carries on smiling.” Hanna's mother, Megan Hogue, also presented her with a ring that Russ had given her at her high school graduation.

Finally, ILHS Assistant Principal Dave Coburn presented the final Hunter Valentine Memorial Scholarships. Those awards went to Morgan Coppel, Drew Kreiss, Collin Coburn, Connor Dixon, Cole Mefford, and Kale Shoffner.

ILHS Guidance Counselor Valarie Rapp said, “It does take a village to raise a child and with all of this, I’d say our village is pretty awesome.”

ILHS recipients honored at the event were: Michaela Arnold, Christina Bowen, Terrin Bok, Libby Cotterman, Collin Coburn, Morgan Coppel, Gage Dempster, Connor Dixon, Darrian Dorsey, Allie Gentis, Aubrey Grider, Gianna Hagedorn, Hanna Hogue, Logan Ingle, Samara Jakeway, Alexa King, Spencer Klauer, Drew Kreiss, Sierra Lensman, Jade Lynn Lewis, George Lones, Kevin McLane, Tommy Meek, Cole Mefford, Kelsi Poppe, Tatum Reprogle, Kale Shoffner, Emily Stover, Mollie Swygart, Gabrielle Taylor, James Toda, Nikolas Vance, Xander Vance, MaryAnn Wahl, Spencer Wolf, and Delaney Woods.

All scholarship recipients will be designated at ILHS Graduation Ceremonies on May 20th at 2 pm.

(Pictured top from left to right: front row - Alexa King, Gianna Hagedorn, Darrian Dorsey, MaryAnn Wahl, Terrin Bok, Tatum Reprogle, Christina Bowen, Libby Cotterman, and Samara Jakeway; second row - Mollie Swygart, Emily Stover, Kale Shoffner, George Lones, Jade Lynn Lewis, Delaney Woods, Aubrey Grider, Hanna Hogue, Kelsi Poppe, Sierra Lensman, Morgan Coppel, Drew Kreiss, and Gabrielle Taylor; back row - Logan Ingle, Connor Dixon, Kevin McLane, Spencer Klauer, Xancer Vance, Collin Coburn, Nikolas Vance, Gage Dempster, James Toda, Tommy Meek, Spencer Wolf, and Cole Mefford)

(Pictured right: Jacob Shoe and Cole Mefford)

(Pictured left: Megan Hogue, Russ Hogue, and Hanna Hogue)

We encourage open dialogue among people who may disagree. Difficult conversations must be had sometimes to make progress. If you disagree, please disagree respectfully. Cruelty will not be tolerated. This is a family friendly group.
picture polls
Become our Friend
on Facebook
Follow us
on Twitter
Make us Your

This site was created by RiverBender.com
Copyright © 2018 Peak of Ohio
PeakOfOhio.com · WPKO 98.3 FM · WBLL 1390 AM
1501 County Road 235, Bellefontaine, OH 43311-9505
Phone 937-592-1045 · Fax 937-592-3299 · EEO Report